Senate confirms four board members for downstream regulatory authority

By Akpobor Jirue, Abuja

The Nigerian Senate on Thursday confirmed four nominees presented by President Muhammadu Buhari last week as members of the Nigerian Midstream and Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority (NMDPRA).

The confirmation followed the consideration of a report by the Committee on Downstream Petroleum Sector.

The nominees are Idaere Gogo Ogan, Chairman; Farouk A. Ahmed, Chief Executive Officer; Abiodun Adeniji, Executive Director, Finance and Accounts; and Ogbugo Ukoha, Executive Director, Distributions System, Storage and Retail Infrastructure.

The confirmation was made during the plenary shortly before the presentation of the 2022 budget at the joint session of the National Assembly.

Presenting the committee’s report, the Chairman Senate Committee on Downstream Petroleum, Senator Sabo Mohammed, said the nominees’ appointments were in accordance with the provisions of section 34(3) of the Petroleum Industry Act, 2021.

He said the Committee did not receive any petition against their nominations, adding that they were cleared by security agencies and possess the Code of Conduct Acknowledgement Slips.