April 16, 2024

Blackout hits Ijebu- Ode, Ogijo, Sagamu, Simawa, 60 communities as TCN embarks on facility maintenance  


Oredola Adeola

Residents of Ijebu-Ode, Sagamu, Odogbolu, Ago-Iwoye, Simawa, McPherson, and 56 other communities in the entire Ogun east district of Ogun state, are expected to experience about 12 hours of daily power outage from Friday, January 13 to Sunday, January 15, 2023, due to planned routine maintenance on the Ayede, McPherson, Sagamu and Ijebu-Ode 132KV lines by the Transmission Company of Nigeria(TCN).

This was contained in separate statements released by the TCN and Ogun regional office of Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company(IBEDC), and obtained by EnergyDay on Thursday.

Confirming the planned outage that will affect the entire district, Ndidi Mbah
GM, TCN’s public affairs, disclosed that the maintenance operation will lead to disruption of power supply for nine hours each day in affected communities, from 8:00am to 5:00 pm for the three days.

She also added that as a result, there will be load diversion from Ikorodu Transmission Substation to Sagamu Transmission Substation and consequently load shedding for the three-day period in the district.

The TCN’s spokesperson said, “Some of the areas that will be affected include Sagamu, Ikenne, Remo, and Ogijo township. Also, NNPC, METALFRIQUE company, CELPLASS company, REAL INFRASTRUCTURE, BABCOCK hospital, and university areas will equally experience load shedding.”

Mbah however revealed that the bulk power diversion from Ikorodu substation is essential to enable its contractor to carry out the replacement of 2No. lattice tubular poles of towers 534 and 535 along the Ayede – McPherson – Sagamu 132kV transmission line.

She added that the preventive maintenance work is highly expedient to forestall the collapse of the tower, appealing to residents of the district for the inconvenience that the activities would cause within the specified areas.

Corroborating the planned outage, the Ogun Region of IBEDC also revealed that the TCN’s planned routine maintenance on the Ayede, McPherson, Sagamu and Ijebu-Ode 132KV lines by the Transmission Company of Nigeria(TCN) would affect electricity customers in Sagamu, Ikenne, Iperu, Ilisan, Ogere, Ajura, Abule-Alufa, Orile-Igbehin, Papalanto Road, Ode-Remo, Ipara, Isara, Ilara, Akaka, Irolu, Ijesa-Ijebu Ayepe, Odogbolu, Okun-Owa, Ode-Lemo, Igboolo, Ewu-Lemo, Otuyelu, Arigbabu, and Likosi.

Others are Simawa, Ewu-Oloja, Ita-Sanni,Dejuwogbo, Adenuga-Agbo, Kamalo, Eyita, Atan, Idimogun, Omoleye,Abafon, Ogunmakin,Ajebo, Seriki-Sotayo, Debonre, Obafe, Fidiwo, Orile-Oko, Abatan, Ijana-Alapako, Alapako-Oni, Gbalesun and Owojo, Ijebu-Ode, Ijebu-Igbo, Ijebu-ife, Idowa, Ibefun, Atan, Ago-Iwoye,Ijebu-Mushin, Itamarun, Imagbon Isonyin, Ikala, Mamu, Ososa, Ilese, Oru, Awa, and environs.

IBEDC however stated that the customers in the aforementioned communities will experience planned outages between 8am-7am daily, starting from Friday January 13 to Sunday ,January 15, 2023.

The DisCo however apologised for the inconvenience, assuring its customers of improved supply and claiming that the maintenance exercise was aimed at increasing capacity of the existing lines.