May 25, 2024

Nigeria’s Government to power 25 universities, teaching hospitals, rural areas with solar energy

Oredola Adeola


Adebayo Adelabu, Minister of Power, has restated the commitment of the Nigerian government to completely remove 25 universities, teaching hospitals, and some underserved rural areas across the country, and power them with grid solar power.



Adelabu made this known at the weekend in Ibadan, the capital of Oyo state.



According to him, the initiative is designed to provide a reliable and sustainable source of electricity, ensuring uninterrupted operations in these critical facilities.



He added that this measure will address the persisting power challenge in the country, noting that the initiative is part of the government’s rural electrification policy aimed at ensuring economic development by providing power through renewable energy sources.



Adelabu therefore emphasised that increased investment in power transmission and distribution infrastructure would be made to reduce power loss before reaching end users.



This is however noted the first time that such initiative would be initiated as EnergyDay gathered that the Rural Electrification Agency of Nigeria (REAN)has announced plans to provide access to reliable electric power supply for rural dwellers, including 25 universities, teaching hospitals, and some underserved rural areas across the country.


The Energizing Education Programme (EEP) is an initiative of the Federal Government of Nigeria to provide sustainable and clean power supply to 37 Federal Universities and 7 University Teaching Hospitals across Nigeria.


The EEP Phase 1 of the universities include Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Teaching Hospital, Bayero University, Kano, University of Agriculture, Makurdi, Benue State, Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Delta State, Federal University of Technology, Akure, Ondo State, Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, Abia State, Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola, Adamawa State, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, Anambra State, University of Lagos, Lagos State, and Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto State.


The EEP Phase II which is also ongoing is the implementation of the project in 12 Federal Universities and seven Teaching Hospitals within Nigeria.

The EEP Phase III is a Federal Government of Nigeria initiative tasked with developing off-grid, dedicated, and independent power plants, as well as rehabilitating existing distribution infrastructure in universities and teaching hospitals across Nigeria.